Much like the guidelines governing Parmesan and Champagne, tequila can only be made in five Mexican states (Jalisco, Guanajuato, Nayarit, Michoacán, and Tamaulipas), and from blue Weber agave. The diversity of the category, however, includes different age statements and extraction processes.

Want to learn how to use blanco versus reposado tequila? Or curious about the differences between añejo and extra añejo? Check out our illustrated guide to the styles of tequila. 

All of the types of tequila, explained, in an infographic