These days, dinner parties are a pain in the butt to plan. Your best friend is following a gluten-free diet, your roommate is Paleo, your girlfriend’s new squeeze is vegan, and your neighbor just informed you that he’s avoiding sugar. Sounds like quite a dinner! We can’t help you with the food, but we can […]
Okay okay, just stop right there, because whatever you’re about to say regarding the (in)validity of gluten-free beer has already been said before — about a million times. We hear you, we really do, but there are plenty of beer lovers out there, your author included, who physically just can’t partake in the glory of […]
It’s hard to imagine that ten years ago, the phrase “gluten-free” was hardly ever used in mainstream circles. However, with gluten sensitivity/allergy awareness on the rise, many a product at the grocery store will proudly proclaim its gluten-free status. Alcohol is no stranger to wanting in on the elite gluten-free club.
“So if it’s made of corn, is it gluten-free?” I was always torn when answering this question. And I was asked it, many times, when vending craft liquor at a local farmer’s market. My first impulse was to shout “yes! Because all hard liquor is gluten free!” My second was to take the bait and […]
It’s probably because I watch too much TV, but when I was younger, I always imagined that all adults were required to have a signature drink. Carrie Bradshaw had her cosmopolitans, James Bond had his martini, Norm from Cheers simply had a beer. And now, with a recent spike in popularity, there is a strong […]